Skip to Content

Democrats slam FDA e-cigarette policy riddled with loopholes for kid-appealing flavors

Washington, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Patty Murray (D-WA), ranking member of the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions (HELP), and 29 of her Democratic Senate colleagues, sent a letter to Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Commissioner Dr. Stephen Hahn.

The letter criticizes the FDA’s decision to break the Trump Administration’s promise to clear all non-tobacco flavored e-cigarette products from the market by announcing a weak policy that includes huge exceptions regarding menthol-flavored products and any flavored e-liquids that are not in a cartridge.

These products have not undergone a scientific review by FDA of their impact on public health.  Leaving them on the market will place millions of children at risk of addiction. As the newly confirmed FDA Commissioner, you have the opportunity – and the obligation – to take meaningful action to address the ongoing youth vaping crisis. 

The Senators' letter to the FDA

Read the full letter here.

The letter was also signed by Senators Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Ed Markey (D-MA), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Jack Reed (D-RI), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Angus King (I-ME), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Tom Carper (D-DE), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Tina Smith (D-MN), Chris Coons (D-DE), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Chris Murphy (D-CT), and Tom Udall (D-NM).

Bailey Pace

Social Media and Digital Content Manager

Skip to content