Skip to Content

2020 Primary election candidates for McDowell and Wyoming Counties

(WVVA) With election day quickly approaching, there's several candidates looking to be the candidates in the ballot in November. While its important to know national and state level elections, local elections are important as well.

Here's a list of McDowell and Wyoming County candidates and the office they're running for:

McDowell County-

  • County Commissioner: Larry Barber (D), Herb Billings (D), Cecil Dale Patterson (D)
  • Prosecuting Attorney: Emily Miller (D) and Brittany Puckett (D)
  • Sheriff: Kenneth Hicks (R), Joseph Jones (D), James Muncy Jr. (D)
  • Assessor: A. Ray Bailey (D), Gary Hall (R), Martin B. West (D)
  • Magistrate (Non Partisan): Steve Cox, Danny Mitchell, W. Joey Proffitt, Andy Vance, and Richard Van Dyke
  • Board of Education (Non Partisan): Sandi Fletcher-Blankenship, Mike Callaway, Harold Smith, Mike Vallo, Georgia Muncey West, David Williams

Wyoming County-

  • County Commission: Eugene F. McMillion (D), Jason E. Mullins (D)
  • Prosecuting Attorney: Michael Cochrane
  • Sheriff: Brad Ellison
  • Assessor: Michael Cook
  • Magistrate (Non Partisan): Jeff Barlow (Div. 3), Craig Cook (Div. 2), Jeff Dunigon (Div. 1), Roger Snow (Div. 1)
  • Surveyor (Non Partisan): Sefton Stewart
  • Board of Education (Non Partisan): Betty F. England, Nathan R. England Sr., Michael R. Prichard, David G. Thompson, Richie Walker, Verdis Walls
  • Conservation District Supervisor: Fred Halsey, Edsel Ray Lafferty

Ashley Smith

Multimedia Journalist

Skip to content