CHARLESTON, W.Va. (WVVA) - A new state law provides free concealed handgun licenses to many military veterans.
The new law exempts any honorably discharged veteran of the nation’s military from paying for a West Virginia concealed handgun license.
According to the state attorney general's office, "The statute also reduces the application fee for non-veteran applicants from $75 to $25. The application fee for a provisional concealed carry license now sits at $15, down from $25. An additional fee – $25 for a standard license and $15 for a provisional license – is due at the time of issuance and remains unchanged."
For a full list of states and more information regarding West Virginia concealed handgun licenses, please visit the Attorney General’s Gun Reciprocity page at www.wvago.gov.
Stay with WVVA for updates.
You can watch all of our newscasts live on our App and website here: https://wvva.com/watch-wvva-live/