Skip to Content

Tazewell County Dispatcher recognized with ‘Dispatcher of the Year’ award

Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00

TAZEWELL COUNTY, Va (WVVA) - The Virginia Sheriff's Association has added a new award in 2020: Dispatcher of the Year, and the winner of the award is a Tazewell County 911 dispatcher.

Marcella Keene is the winner of 'Dispatcher of the Year,' and Tazewell County Sheriff Brian Hieatt says she was nominated because of her quick actions to save someone who had collapsed near the sheriff's office.

Sheriff Hieatt recognized Dispatcher Keene, who has worked with emergency services for more than 35 years and has been a dispatcher for 15 years.

She says it is an honor to receive this award. From all of us at WVVA, congratulations Dispatcher Keene!

Marcella Keene was awarded 'Dispatcher of the Year'

Melinda Zosh

Evening Anchor and Producer

Skip to content